Tech, Teaching and Me

Trying to turn off my brain by writing it down

Learning Everday

on March 16, 2012

As my Capstone I course starts to come to and end, I am faced with the question, “How do I continue my professional development on a continual basis?” I believe it is my responsibility as an educator to continue learning everyday.

I am an active member of the Twitter community, and find myself participating in the #edchats as often as possible. This activity allows me to stay active in my global community. I am also fortunate to conduct bi-monthly training sessions with teachers from every grade level I teach. These sessions allow me to continue my involvement in the local community.  Over the years, I have developed my Professional Learning Community here at my school. In the past year or so, I have developed a very supportive and impressive Personal Learning Network through Twitter.

In fact, I am reading Sheryl Nussbaum Beach’s “The Connected Educator” along with other co-workers, http://www.21stcenturycollaborative.com/2011/09/the-connected-educator/. We get together and discuss the different chapters. It has been a very rewarding process for us. Sheryl’s explanation of the different types of learning communities has been very helpful to me. Understanding that at Professional Learning Community, is a group of educators I work with in person, at my school. My Personal Learning Network, is a group of educators and professionals that I have developed on my own, in more of a digital world, to enhance my teachings. My goal is to now create a Community of Practice. To create my Community of Practice, I need to take these groups I have created around me, and add a common objective or purpose. Creating a clear goal, like empowering and reshaping the educators of today for the betterment of society tomorrow, and using these communities to achieve that goal, is a Community of Practice. Using all of these effective, powerful relationships to create a positive and purposeful outcome is the goal before me.


Leave a Reply

