Tech, Teaching and Me

Trying to turn off my brain by writing it down

Just Keep Trying….

on January 15, 2012

As I read the article, “Developing a Community of Learners: What Will it Look Like and How it Work?” I was very interested in the focus of what it takes to foster a community of learners. The late Ann Brown developed a program in California that others have modeled ever since.  FCL (Fostering a community of Learners), according to the article is a system of 5 important pieces, working together. Those 5 steps are active, purposeful learning, a learning setting that pays attention to multiple zones of development, the legitimization of differences, a community of discourse and a community of practice.

When others break down these ideas for me, I marvel at the simplicity. Basically, the article says, people learn when given a purpose, ability to learn at their own pace, the ability to bring various opinions to the discussion, have discussions with varying view points and a clear sense of responsibility to the group. I bring this perspective to my classrooms and to my own learning outside of my classroom. I give my students a clear purpose, freedom to learn in their best style and  engaging debates and opinions for broaden their perspectives.

From my own learning community, I expect and contribute a clear purpose, different learning styles and intelligent discussions. According to “Finding Your Learning Community” by Anita McAnear “educators committed to continually learning and improving their practice stand to see the greatest gains in student achievement.” My personal growth and a sense of accomplishment is important to me, but the bottom line is my students and their learning.

Learning comes in stages. According to “The Legacy Model”  learning can be addressed in eight steps: 1-Look ahead 2-Challenge 3-Generate Ideas 4-Multiple Perspectives 5-Research & Revise 6-Test Your Mettle 7-Go Public 8-Reflection.

The other readings in the Capstone I, Session I week were very beneficial and I have added them to my Delicious Bookmarking site for future review and implementation. “Doing Research: An Introduction to the Concepts of Online Searching“, “Checklist for Evaluating Web Resources“, “The Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education” have all given me information to add to my future lesson plans and to incorporate in my daily teachings.

This session of my Capstone I course has reminded me that learning comes in many forms, for students and teachers.  Enhancing our professional learning circles,  conducting smart searching, and critically evaluating our web resources are all a valuable part of the learning process.


Leave a Reply

